Student Organizations

UGA Griffin Student Advisory Council

The Student Advisory Council (SAC) is the student organization on the UGA Griffin Campus which initiates and facilitates student activities. The purpose of SAC is to add value to students' lives and to build, stimulate, and maintain community on the UGA Griffin Campus. The core values of SAC are Integrity, Support, and Leadership.

Misty SmithCherry Rawlins, and Lee Taylor serve as the organization's advisors. Students who are interested in joining SAC should fill out a UGA Griffin Student Advisory Council Application.

For more information, contact us at

2022 SAC Members.jpg

2021 - 2022 UGA Griffin Student Advisory Council Officers

  • Ikechukwu Oguadinma, Food Science (Ph.D), Griffin, GA - President
  • Revati Narwankar, Food Science (Ph.D), Griffin, GA - Vice President
  • Julianna Nicole Morris, Food Science (MS), Griffin, GA - Secretary
  • Rawane Raad, Food Science (MS), Griffin, GA - Treasurer

UGA Griffin Ambassadors (Why Apply?)

In spring 2009, the UGA Griffin Ambassadors organization was formed. Undergraduate and graduate students are selected annually to serve as official hosts and goodwill ambassadors for campus and community events. The Ambassadors welcome university and government officials to the Griffin Campus, assist incoming students at New Student Orientation, and talk with prospective students at a variety of campus events about the degree programs and opportunities available to them as UGA Griffin Campus students.

New members of the UGA Griffin Ambassadors are selected early in the fall and spring semesters.  Thus, students interested in applying should check the “Important Dates” and/or the “Spotlight on Campus News and Events” sections on the home page of the UGA Griffin Campus web site at the very start of the fall and spring semesters for an announcement that the online application is available. 

Ms. Faye Chatman, Program Director for the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences at the Griffin Campus; Dr. Marianne Fortuna, Lecturer in the Terry College of Business' J.M. Tull School of Accounting; and Mr. Avery Bray, IT Professional Principal, serve as the organization's advisors.

For more information, contact Faye Chatman,  Dr. Marianne Fortuna, or Avery Bray.

Applications for the UGA Griffin Ambassadors are now being accepted.  If you’d like to be considered for this student organization whose members serve as the official hosts and goodwill ambassadors for the UGA Griffin Campus, please submit the online application no later than 5 PM on Friday, January 20, 2023.


Fall 2022 UGA Griffin Ambassadors

  • John McWaters, General Business (BBA), Fayetteville, GA - President
  • Riya Hooda, Food Science and Technology (MS), Griffin, GA - Vice President
  • Matt Molini,  Crop and Soil Science (MS), Griffin, GA - Secretary
  • Deanna Bigio,  Horticulture (MS), Griffin, GA - Assignment Coordinator
  • Sarah Bragg, Microbiology (BS) and Psychology (BS), Griffin, GA
  • Jon Fletcher, General Business (BBA), Griffin, GA
  • Mahesh Ghimire, Entomology (MS), Griffin, GA
  • Daniel Ibiyemi, Entomology (PhD), Griffin, GA
  • Anna Lawson, Microbiology (BS) and Psychology (BS), Griffin, GA
  • Matthew McWaters, Interdisciplinary Studies – Sociology (AB), Fayetteville, GA
  • Saptarshi Mondal, Crop and Soil Science (PhD), Griffin, GA
  • Umar Munir, Crop and Soil Science (MS), Griffin, GA
  • Amrit Pal, Food Science and Technology (PhD), Griffin, GA
  • Harshita Saxena, Plant Breeding, Genetics, & Genomics (PhD), Locust Grove, GA
  • Mayra Villar-Buzo, Plant Breeding, Food Science and Technology (MS), Griffin, GA